Inn on the lake
Broek in Waterland, Netherlands
We organize tours to the most beautiful spots in
Holland. We have half day and full day excursions.
Trade on the banks of the river Zaan was mostly dependent on the wind. The windmills worked several old crafts. In 1622 the mill called �de Ooievaar� (the stork) started as an oil mill. �De Huisman� (the House man) has produced the very well known coarse Zaans mustard since 1780. �De Zoeker� (the Searcher) is over 50 years younger and the paint mill �De Kat� (The Cat) dates back to 1781. The youngest of the five mills is �De Gekroonde Poelenberg� where timber has been sawn since 1869.
Cheese farm Catharina Hoeve
Replica of an original Oost-Zaanland farm. Built in 1988. In the cheese farm every day different types of Dutch cheese are made. All kinds of Gouda cheese, as well as goat and sheep cheese is on sale in the homey shop. Naturally you may try all the different kinds of cheese.
Wooden Shoe Workshop
Built in the 18th century as warehouse 'De Vrede' (The Peace) in Westzaan; a storage shed for grain and snuff. Moved in 1984 to Zaanse Schans. Part of the warehouse is set up as a wooden shoe-museum with one of the largest collections in Holland. It also accommodates a clog workshop where you can see the clogmaker at work.
Bulb fields and Keukenhof In the springtime the bulb fields and gardens of the Keukenhof are an extraordinary sight as hundreds of bulbs burst forth in a blaze of colour. The Keukenhof was used between 1401 to 1436 by Jacoba of Bavaria to hunt and to gather herbs for cooking. Hence the name Keukenhof (kitchen garden).
The park which forms the basis of the current Keukenhof was designed in 1840 by the horticultural architects Zochter, father and son. They also designed the Vondelpark in Amsterdam. The beautiful Beukenlaan (Beech Lane) with its majestic trees originates from this period. They are the oldest trees present in the Keukenhof. A lot of attention is paid to the trees in the park. For example, every 5 years a small airplane flies over the park to take infra-red pictures of the trees. This way, all of the trees in the park can be checked to see if they are still healthy. In 1949 the then-mayor of Lisse made the idea of a show garden a reality with the cooperation of bulb growers and exporters.
Not only a lot of flora, but also much fauna can be seen in Keukenhof. In addition to the pasture animals, more than 30 different kinds of breeding birds can be found. The swans in the pond are leased annually and return to their owner after the season.
Volendam, Marken and Edam
Volendam is more than just a tourist centre and a fishing village, with its maze of fishermen�s houses built on poles and an unique open harbour still in its original state. The timbered little church built on stone dates back to 1658. The traditional costumes of the 'Dutch cheese girls' as worn at international exhibitions are a variation of the Volendam costume.
Marken became prosperous in times when the population fished for whales, but when the Zuiderzee was dammed in the people of Marken had to find an alternative source of income. The solution was found in using the boats for the transport of hay. Before the Zuiderzee was dammed in Marken was flooded regularly and during long and severe winters drift ice would reach up to the lighthouse.
Edam Cheese has become a brand name. It is not only produced in Edam but throughout the Netherlands and even abroad. Cheese markets are still held in the summer months. They are not held for trade purposes, but for their tourist value. The old town centre and especially the Kwakelsteeg still has lovely characteristic Waterland houses.
Alkmaar and Surroundings
The world famous Cheese market is held in front of the Waag, every Friday from April to October. Before being rebuilt as a Weigh House in 1582, the building was the H. Geesthuis Chapel. The unique bells and horseman play in the tower of the Weigh House are well worth watching closely. In Alkmaar you can still find several characteristic �hofjes� courtyards, such as the Splinter and the Wildemanshofje and many beautiful merchants houses.
In the Schermerpolder you can still see how three windmills transport the water upwards in several stages. One of the mills is still working and is a museum, where you are given an insight into the working of this type of windmill through glass protective plates.
Broek op Langedijk
Broek op Langedijk is the home of the oldest sail-through vegetable auction in Europe. The auction site has been converted into a museum. The Museum has a unique collection of barges, historic horticultural tools and West Friesian dresses.
Hoorn en Enkhuizen
At the beginning of the 14th century Hoorn started out as a settlement for merchants from Denmark and North Germany. It was located where the river Gouw meets the Zuiderzee. In 1356 Hoorn was granted town rights and by then already had a Weigh House. Between 1500 and 1600 Hoorn proved to be the most important harbour on the Zuiderzee. The VOC (United East Indies Company) history can be seen in the West Friesian Museum (in 1632 the seat of the States Council) and by walking through the town where many monuments tell you of the rich history of Hoorn.
Enkhuizen and the Zuiderzee museum
During the first half of the Eighty-Years-War the town of Enkhuizen was at its peak of economic growth due to the favourable location on the Zuiderzee and the enterprising drive of local merchants. When Enkhuizen became one of the six locations of the East Indies Company the town expanded with houses and storage buildings. The Saint Pancreas Church and the �Dromedaris� are the two most obvious buildings in the old part of Enhuizen. The Dromedaris was built in 1540 as part of the fortifications and in 1649 two floors were added. The Zuiderzee museum consists of an outdoor and an indoor museum. The outdoor museum, located just behind the old part of Enhuizen, gives a picture of the Zuiderzee villages in times gone by. They show the sober living conditions of the hard working population. The indoor museum gives you information about fishing villages such as Volendam, Marken, Hindeloopen and Enkhuizen, the struggle against the water, the North sea fishery for herring and the Zuiderzee fishery and a large collection of wooden boats.
Gouda en Delft
Gouda not only refers to the full-cream cheese but also to the traditional pipe made of white stone, to Gouda pottery and of course Gouda candles. The most impressive buildings of Gouda are the Weigh House and the Town Hall, which was erected between 1448 and 1459. The use of natural stones for the outside gives it an un-Dutch look. People are now married in what used to be the Lord Mayor�s Room. It has carpeted walls from the 17th century.
Delft is well known for several reasons: Delft Blue pottery, workplace of the painter Vermeer and being a typical Dutch town (many canals). Delft has also a less than perfect history. William of Orange made his home in the Prinsenhof in Delft. This is where he was shot by Balthazar Gerardts. His mausoleum is in the New Church. This New Church was built on the spot of a wooden church built after a miraculous appearance of the Virgin Maria. The tower of the New Church took a hundred years to be completed and measures 108 meters in height.