Language:
  • Contact Inn on the lake
  • Email this articleTell a friend
  • Facebook

Inn on the lake

Broek in Waterland, Netherlands

Reviews for Inn on the lake

38 Reviews
Average rating
Write a review

Wonderful.. 

Review by Marie and Tony on 10/13/12 10:32 PM

We stayed for 3 nights at this B&B and found it very nice. We had jut done a two week river cruis from Budapest to Amsterdam and Pamela let us check in early as we arrived at 10:00 am and were worried what to do with our luggage. Their home is beautifully decorated and the breakfasts were plentiful and so delicious. Fresh squeezed orange juice, warm rolls, yogurt with fresh fruit and granola, cheeses, meats, coffee, and Pamela's eggs set us up for a busy day of touring! Transportation to Amsterdam was a 10 min bus ride, very efficient and with the bus pass from Pamela, very cheap. The village is neat, clean and very safe. We also had a dinner at the B&B which is a must. Karel took us to the airport which is much cheaper than a taxi. I should mention the taxi the cruise line arranged charged us nearly 60 euros to go to the B&B, a big rip off. Best to get a quote first! All in all, a fantastic ending to or vacation.

Delightful!.. 

Review by Bilo on 10/7/12 1:36 PM

Our experience at the Inn On The Lake was most pleasant. The house is beautiful with great decor.. Our bedroom had small touches that made it so cozy.Breakfast was something to look forward to every day.The little village we were staying in was absolutely quaint. Could not have asked for better!

Wonderful.. 

Review by Tom, Jan & Alex on 8/30/12 10:05 AM

My husband & I along w/our 18 year old granddaughter stayed here in mid July, 2012 and had a most memorable stay. We were in the green room where Alex slept in the adorable bedsted, which she found to be very private and very comfortable. Karel picked us up at the airport and spirited us into a fairy tale village that was comfortable and welcoming. It rained the whole time we were there, but it didn't dampen the charm of our surroundings one bit. Pam's breakfasts and one dinner we had were delicious and well presented. If we were to go back to Holland, this is where we would stay.

Amazing!.. 

Review by Scotties on 7/25/12 9:24 AM

We are regular visitors to Amsterdam but this was the first time we had stayed outside the city. We had such a wonderful break at Inn on the Lake we hope to be able to return for many years to come. Our hosts, Pamela and Karel and their family were absolutely wonderful - very considerate and caring. All their blood, sweat and tears in renovating the old vicarage has certainly been worth it. It has been done with flair and finesse. Pamela's interior designer skills are evident everywhere. The hotel is in a wonderful setting with beautiful gardens on the water's edge. Each morning we enjoyed a different home made breakfast in the conservatory. (Pamela's "special eggs" really were special.) On our last evening we arranged to have dinner in the hotel. We had a lovely surprise when Karel took us out on his boat where we enjoyed our aperatives and wine in the company of some of their friends from the village. On our return, Pamela had prepared a superb dinner including a vegetarian option for my husband. After dinner we retired to our room, The Red Room, with another bottle of their delicious red wine! We will most certainly return to this little piece of heaven on earth, perhaps in winter next time to enjoy our aperatives on the frozen lake.

Simply lovely...... 

Review by The Halls on 6/6/12 2:49 AM

The Inn on the Lake is lovely and blessed with a fabulous location. Perfectly placed to tour some of Holland's beautiful sights. Broek itself is lovely, laid back and friendly, relaxing and romantic. The Inn is fabulous, wonderful decor, perfect location on the lake and helpful owners. In fact we discovered so much of Holland we would not have known about if it was not for the advice of the hotel owner giving us many tips on where to visit! I would really recommend the Inn on the Lake to anyone considering a break in Holland, it is a hidden gem. We will certainly be returning.

Consistently Fabulous.. 

Review by Jos on 5/9/12 11:16 AM

We stayed at the Inn on the Lake from 19th to 21st April. As always, the ambience, the decor and the breakfasts and dinners were superb. There is nothing we would change and of course, we'll be coming back! Thank you Pamela and Karel - you are great hosts. Jos and Mike xx

Phenomenal!.. 

Review by Bryan on 5/3/12 1:22 PM

We stayed at the Inn April 23 and 24, it was pure heaven and like out of a postcard. Quiet, tranquil, peaceful, and everyone was friendly and nice. Dinner was amazing, we really enjoyed the curators and were quite amused by the pulley method of getting luggage upstairs. We are definitely planning a return trip for 2013 and staying longer!

juste parfait !.. 

Review by yves&sylvie on 3/11/12 11:56 AM

étonnant bon dans le magnifique , en sortant de l'autoroute , on ne peut imaginer tomber dans un si bel endroit , tout juste a trois KM de la sortie . tout est beau , reposant , tranquille.... , et la maison d'hote complète merveilleusement le tableau , tout y est exquis , un vrai exercice de style , rien n'est laissé au hasard , meme ds les moindres détails .

Delightful.. 

Review by British Guest on 2/28/12 10:59 AM

Inn on the Lake is just so pleasant, the setting is something out of a fairytale, Pamela is a treasure to the little village and has turned the Inn into an absolutely beautiful place. The food is simple, refined and delicious, the homemade bread rolls smelled incredible as their scent wafted up to our room in the morning, and the accommodations are just right. We have only very positive and warm things to say about the entire experience. Definitely going to return soon.

Delightful!.. 

Review by Gillian on 12/16/11 1:46 AM

We recently returned for our second visit to this exquisite guest house, so conveniently close to Amsterdam, and were not disappointed. Spacious rooms, knowledgeable and friendly owners. A beautiful peaceful view over the lake and delicious breakfast. Highly recommended!

Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!.. 

Review by Hidden Gem on 11/9/11 9:48 AM

We recently spent a long weekend at inn on the lake. We cant recommend this place enough and advise anyone traveling to Amsterdam to stay at this hidden gem. The food is great and the hosts are very friendly and a fountain of knowledge. The setting is in a beautiful location and a welcome retreat from the hussle of central Amsterdam. We hoope to come back next year

Superb!.. 

Review by Alida on 9/15/11 12:42 PM

We recently spent two nights at the Inn on the Lake in Broek in Waterland as part of our family reunion in Amsterdam. If only all B&B's were as fabulous as this one! Both rooms were spacious, elegant and tastefully furnished. We woke up to the sounds of the ducks and a wonderful breakfast was served as we admired the view of the lake. On one night we had dinner, which also exceeded our expectations, as Pamela is a great cook and clearly loves it. We have recommended this beautiful Inn to our friends and hope to return next year. Exquisite. Thank you Pamela and Karel.

Fabulous!.. 

Review by Stella on 6/20/11 10:49 AM

I booked the Inn on the Lake for my husband and I and our friends - so the pressure was on as I wanted everyone to be happy! My expectations were certainly fulfilled as we found a fantastic house with beautiful rooms and excellent service. On our previous trips to Amsterdam we have stayed in a 5 star hotel in the centre and I can honestly say that this far outweighed our previous experience. We can't wait to visit again and I can whole heartedly recommend the Inn on the Lake as a fabulous place to stay.

Excellent in every way.. 

Review by Jo on 5/4/11 2:32 AM

This place is just perfect in every way: - from the chocolate box village that is Broek, with its cute waterways, charming houses and nice cafes; - to the house itself, an elegant delight, with gorgeous floorings and furnishings and a garden to die for abutting the lake; - to the rooms, tastefully furnished, with those small touches that make a stay special, we stayed in the Black and White room which was gorgeous, complete with roll top bath; - to the views, out across the lake or onto the church; - to the hosts, who arranged transfers to/from the airport, welcomed us into their home, fed and watered us, gave us tips on what to do, and took us out on their boat for sundowner aperitifs; - to the food, which was simply excellent; - to the weather which was amazing Don't be put off by the fact that this is outside the city, you will be glad to escape to the tranquility after the hussle and bustle of Amsterdam. The bus journey is quick and convenient, we never had to wait more than 5 minutes for a bus, morning or night. A truly special place which has a small place in my heart and will make me smile each time I think of our wonderful stay there. Thanks to Pamela, Karel and Adrianne.

Lovely stay in April.. 

Review by Anna-Karin on 4/27/11 1:46 AM

We stayed at Inn on the lake for four days in April, enjoying the Dutch spring. It was a real surprise to us to see the extent of the B&B's loveliness, which cannot be described by the pictures on the website. We all sighed of happiness entering the house. The quiet surroundings, the extraordinary interior design, and the service provided by Pamela och Karel was outstanding. I gladly recommend Inn on the lake for a holiday in Amsterdam.

Absolutely Beautiful.. 

Review by Mon on 1/27/11 6:24 AM

Inn on the Lake is an absolutely beautiful experience. It is situated on a picturesque lake in a gorgeous historical little village. The rooms are charmingly decorated. The owners are extremely friendly and hospitable and make you feel very welcome. Breakfast was delicious and something to look forward to each morning as well as enjoying the stunning view of the lake. Parking is available and there are restaurants with lovely meals within five minutes walking distance. Inn on the Lake was stunning and I can't wait to return!

Fantastisch.. 

Review by Chris en Guy from Belgium on 1/3/11 12:51 PM

We hadden een kerstavond en kerstdag-break bij Pamela en Karel. Het was gewoon geweldig! Mooie kamer met alles erop en eraan; zalig ontbijt met zicht op het bevroren meer met schaatsers en een Kerstdiner. Ik kan dit aan alle Belgen aanbevelen !

Simply astonishing!.. 

Review by Daniela & Sergio on 11/28/10 11:03 AM

We will describe our stay at Inn on the Lake, particularly at White and Black Room, in only one word: D I V I N E !!!!!!!!!!! It felt like heaven! We shall return for sure. A warm thank you to Pamela, Karl and Adrianne. *

Brilliant! .. 

Review by Rebecca on 11/21/10 12:26 PM

It was a very very nice stay. A beautiful house, a beautiful room, very friendly owners, great food and only minutes away from Amsterdam. It was just perfect. We loved it. Only one regret: not to have stayed there longer.

A wonderful break.. 

Review by Stuart and Nora on 10/30/10 5:48 AM

Our break was excellent right from the start. Our trouble free arrival ( thanks to the pick up service from the airport by Karl our host) was followed by a warm welcome from Pamela, our hostess. The house is beautiful, the bedrooms tastefully decorated and very comfortable, the food ( breakfast and dinner) is of top class restaurant standard and Broek in Waterland a beautiful, peaceful haven within easy commute from Amsterdam. I would not hesitate to recommend The Inn on the Lake to my most discerning friends. We look forward to returning at a later date.

Truly wonderful.. 

Review by Sally on 10/20/10 3:41 AM

Inn on the Lake was without doubt the best place we have ever stayed in. Pamela and Karol were welcoming and generous with their attention to details, all of which made our stay perfect in every way. Pamela's cooking is incredible, the breakfasts are delicious and the evening meals are comparable to the very best restaurants. We felt relaxed and comfortable in the huge room, and with Amsterdam being only a short ride away, we could enjoy peace and quiet as well as the city bustle. I would not hesitate to recommend staying here, I can't wait to go back. There is nowhere else I would rather spend a weekend.

Absolutely perfect...... 

Review by Andrew on 9/16/10 5:54 AM

Inn on the Lake was incredibly restful and beautifully appointed. Breakfast was fresh and simple, just the way we like it, and the setting on the lake in Broek-in-Waterland couldn't have been more picturesque. Our hosts Pamela and Karl were so charming and kind and made us feel intirely at ease and welcome. We loved this B&B so much that we decided to make a subsequent booking for the spring. This charming and quant B&B is a treasure, not to be missed.

Stunning.. 

Review by Caroline on 9/6/10 4:36 AM

We were made to feel so welcome. We were a little anxious when we first turned up as we arrived with a 9year old and a 21month old. The average age of the guests in the village seemed to be much older than us and our young family. However, once we checked in to our fantastic room, we soon felt very much at home. The Host's were so welcoming, the staff were lovely, the food was delicious, the dog was a sweetie, the decor was stunning, and on and on. Its not cheap, but definately worth it and its only a short bus ride from Amsterdam. We would definately recommomend The Inn on the Lake to anyone, in fact we have raved about it on our return and bored our friends to death with our hours of photos.

Charming!.. 

Review by Weekend in Amsterdam on 9/1/10 9:55 PM

We chose to stay at this Inn because we wanted out of the congestion in the heart of Amsterdam and we found peace and quiet and it was very relaxing! The gardens and house were amazing, and we loved the church beside the house. Although the host was just returning from a major surgery, she was so gracious and friendly. She helped out negotiate our taxi and a trip to a castle. So if you come and stay, be sure to ask her about special rates and the cards to use for the buses. We would not hesitate to stay there again!

Wundervolle Location.. 

Review by Sonnenuntergang on 8/28/10 8:35 AM

Broek ist ein wunderschöner kleiner Ort nahe Amsterdam. Mit der sehr guten Busverbindung binnen 15 Minuten zu erreichen. Wir wurden im Inn of the Lake sehr herzlich empfangen und hatten ein wundervolles romantisches Zimmer. Toller Service mit der Kaffeemaschine zum Selbstbedienen. Frühstück war sehr schön. Das Inn on the Lake ist sehr schön hergerichtet und stilsicher eingerichtet. Tolle Lage direkt am See. Wir hatten uns sehr wohl gefühlt. Einziges Manko: Ich liebe Hunde - aber in der Küche haben sie eigentlich nichts verloren.

Un Piacevole soggiorno.. 

Review by Giuseppe on 8/9/10 11:35 AM

Siamo stati per una settimana tutta la famiglia. Un posto meraviglioso. Merita sicuramente tutto quanto avevo letto su questo B&B. Amsterdam è molto vicina e facilmente raggiungibile con i bus di linea che passano a 100 metri dalla casa; collegata benissimo, con capolinea alla Stazione Centrale. La cena che abbiamo avuto modo di gustare la prima sera è stata eccezionale. Abbiamo soggiornato dapprima nella taupe room; poi anche nella camera rossa e tre notti in quella bianco e nero. La taupe room è al piano terreno: è silenziosa, ma la porta d'ingresso è prospicente alla cucina dei proprietari; a volte ciò può causare problemi di rumorosità. Le altra stanze sono al primo piano e sono molto silenziose, belle e spaziose. I padroni di casa sono gentilissimi e cortesissimi. Che dire di piu? Che ci ritornerei? Ovviamente!!!

best time.. 

Review by Alla on 8/2/10 12:10 AM

Очень удобное место возле автобусной станции в Амстердаме (на самом деле 10-15 мин.) Очень красивый большой комнате. Хороший завтрак со свежими fruits.Fantastic собаки Casper - хорошо для детей. Это был очень хороший опыт.

A Super Dutch Experience .. 

Review by IndyRose on 7/20/10 4:46 AM

Well, once again another pleasant experience in Broek! This was however my first stay at Inn on the Lake and it will surely not be my last. Yes, I came late on the first night due to some work priorities and thought they were a bit cranky about the 1 am arrival ( I had warned them a couple of times from the highway) they welcomed me and we had a great 3 days and were treated like family. The room was cosy, the breakfast delicious, the hosts very accommodating, the dinner excellent and the wine and conversations memorable. DId I mention the lovable dog Kaspar? What a great four-legged host and well mannered and good natured! Too bad we could not stay longer and in addition to all of the fun of the World Cup, the stay here during the weekend of the last couple of games will always be part of the memory!

Inn on the lake.. 

Review by Nick on 5/30/10 7:38 AM

We had a great stay in this amazing place .A wonderful retreat from the busy city . A lovely gesture to take us out on their boat , on the last evening . A easy journey from Amsterdam Central station.The bus goes from the back of the station and not the front.

Disappointed.. 

Review by Gooster on 5/26/10 7:43 AM

I have to say that I was looking very forward to a visit to this property, but unfortunately was unable to get there because of the volcanic ash and airline disruptions. I spoke with Pamela who was disappointed I wasn't able to come, but made no mention of the fact that she'd still be charging me in full for the full duration of my stay. It wasn't until I received my credit card statement a week later that I realised I had still be fully charged. I appreciate that she was not able to resell my room, but meeting somewhere in the middle would have been a nice gesture. She didn't have to wash my sheets, clean my room or feed me a meal. She could have provided some discount based on that. I can assure you it was frustrating enough having my vacation taken away from me, but to know she's there profiting from it without any concern for a potential guest frustrates me to no end. Oh - she did offer me a discount on a future reservation - but I can assure you I won't make use of that offer! Not fond of how she runs her business at all.

Hier komen we zeker terug.. 

Review by Kris en Kathleen on 5/25/10 3:01 PM

Niets dan positieve commentaar. Heel goed gelegen ten opzichte van Amsterdam. We zijn telkens met de fiets naar Amsterdam gegaan, zo'n 7 km langs het kanaal. Heel mooi fietsen en je hoeft geen dure parkings betalen in Amsterdam zelf. Heel mooie kamers, super ontbijt en diner is om duimen en vingers af te likken. Pamela en Karel zijn perfecte gastvrouw en gastheer. We keren zeker terug als we opnieuw een weekendje Amsterdam doen.

Elegant retreat but close to all.. 

Review by acarpio on 5/9/10 1:50 PM

Inn on the Lake is set in a beautiful village and ideal for those who want to be close to the action in Amsterdam but be able to get away from it and relax. You'll love the food and you should schedule a dinner because Pamela's skills are also five stars! The rooms are beautiful the beds are wonderfully comfortable. It's a hidden gem and you won't be disappointed.

Perfection.. 

Review by Australian traveller on 4/13/10 1:58 PM

I have been travelling Europe for the past 7 years and have visited Amsterdam every year for easter. I can honestly say Inn on the Lake is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed in. The B&B is just as beautiful if not more so than the images on the web site. I think the owner is an interior decorator and the place is filled with tasteful touches, so much attention to detail. Not a single thing is left to chance. The breakfast was amazing, freshly squeezed orange juice, individually wrapped butter portions from the local farm and a selection of freshly baked bread rolls. Oh and there there was the home made jam and poached egg served with its own mini mother of pearl spoon. And the relaxing lounge music in the background with the sun streaming through our private dining area.....need I go on. My husband was particularly taken with the avenue oak wooden board floors and the personal nespresso coffee makers in each room. I think this place would be ideal for a girls weekend, a romantic retreat, a family break or even a mothers day surprise. Just delightful. I wish they had one of these in every major european city as it was way better than any 5 star hotel. Thank you so much for allowing us into your home, it was one of the most memorable places we have ever stayed. If you read this review and are thinking of booking, go for it, I guarantee that you will not be disappointed

SUPERLATIEVEN.. 

Review by Gauthier en Nancy on 2/27/10 5:02 AM

Enkel maar superlatieven kunnen deze plek beschrijven. Een fantastisch huis gelegen in een prachtige omgeving. Een perfekte ontvangst en nooit geziene kamers: ongelooflijk mooi en romantisch. Het ontbijt en avondeten.....je waant je in een sterren-restaurant.

Top locatie.. 

Review by Miriam on 1/24/10 1:32 PM

Dit is echt een plekje die ik iedereen aanraadt. De kamers zien er stuk voor stuk allemaal heel mooi uit. De bedden slapen heerlijk. Het ontbijt hapt lekker weg. Mijn favoriet was de romige griekse yoghurt met pruimen combinatie. Uitzicht op de schaatsers op het meertje was erg leuk. Zomers een keer terugkomen en dan met een bootje er op uit lijkt mij een goed plan. En dan 's avonds het diner proberen. Kan niet anders dan goed zijn. Groetjes uit dichtbij Amsterdam van Chris, Miriam en Schotje.

Magnifique.. 

Review by Jacques on 11/2/09 7:18 AM

Endroit ideal pour visiter Amsterdam pendant quelques jours ou tout simplement pour relaxer. A dix minutes du centre ville par bus sans soucis de parking. L'endroit est tout simplement magnifique, un petit village typique au bord d'une voie d'eau qui s'elargit pour devenir un petit lac paisible. L'auberge merite tous les eloges. La maison est acceuillante et decoree avec un gout exquis. L'acceuil est chaleureux mais reste discret. Nous occupions la chambre "noir et blanc", un regal avec son bain sur pattes et toutes ces petites touches delicates qui font de ce B&B une experience memorable. Les petits dejeuner sont au diapason. Succulents sans etre trop charges. En somme le Inn on the Lake est une valeur sure nettement superieure a n'importe quel hotel pour le prix. C'est un endroit ou on aimera revenir.

AMAZING.. 

Review by Ashley I on 10/23/09 2:24 AM

This was the most fabulous service and experience I have had staying in Europe. I live in Germany, but am an American, and found the amenities fantasic and the serivice second to none. The beds are beautiful and the sheets are like nothing you find in a hotel. The breakfast is spectacular and you cannot beat the view. i wil be back many times. I LOVED the experience!

Very Romantic.. 

Review by Romance on 9/15/09 8:30 AM

Super surprise. Very nice decorated. Much attention for nice details. Better then 3 or 4 star rated hotels. Bed- and bathroom are modern and tastefull. Breakfast is a true feast. I smelled and saw the dinner and I can say that next time I want to join one. Th Inn is situated in a romantic quit place. No parking problems. By car only 15 minutes from Amsterdam. If you want to surpise your wife and or lover ;-), succes is granted.

 



Copyright (C) 2012 WebReserv.eu